LmnO @ Community Shows

20130509-200527.jpgPerformed for 100 Inglewood kids, teens young adults & elders following a presentation from and preceding a Q&A with Malcom Shabazz (Malcom X’s grandson).. With no microphone.. It was empowering to know I’m capable of making a room full of conscious minded people of the community laugh as well as the usual drunken fools. Reminds me of when I opened for the mayor of Oakland in front of 1,200 folks.. I’m really capable of anything and can rise to any occasion in my capacity as a comedian..

Now the funny stuff!.. They say the revolution will NOT be televised but given everything I know about community organizations and organizers I can say the revolution WILL be at least 15 minutes off schedule! Of course things started late! During Shabazz’s presentation the videos kept pausing to buffer.. Then everyone was moved into a performance room where I was supposed to perform. Asked where the microphone was and the organizer laughed in my face.

Instead of getting pissed at the belittlement of my craft I made them respect what it is! First thing I told the crowd was if the didn’t laugh I wouldn’t have to reimburse the payment I received.. And I got paid in food. So I’d just make a mess.. The rest was a hot knife through butter! Much fun but I don’t think I’ll be doing many more of these shows in the future.

UPDATE: today, May 9, 2013 Malcom Shabazz was killed. RIP

Though I make light of my experience that day, I must add that the young brother was a very insightful revolutionary minded individual. I am deeply saddened by this loss and feel for his family. He went through so much. I found out about it before an open mic and couldn’t talk about nothin else really. LISTEN |

20130509-200527.jpg

Leave a Reply

